Hop Stoopid

Posted: April 5, 2011 in American Double IPA, American IPA
Tags: , , ,

Today I opened up a bottle of Hop Stoopid by Lagunitas Brewery.  It’s on my list of breweries to tour while I’m in the Bay Area.  I’ve been told that the hops on this one tend to hang out for awhile after drinking.

Color-wise I was expecting something along the lines of an IPA, but this poured a real golden yellow with a thin white head that left some pretty good lacing.  The smell is overwhelmingly hoppy.  The hoppiest beer I think I’ve smelled.  Some background notes of citrus.  Holy crap.  I thought I’d had hoppy beers before, but this is just stoopid!  It has a bit of sweetness, but nothing can really compete with the hops.  The hops do linger for a bit, but they’re not homesteading or anything.  As much as I’m not a fan of IPAs in general, this wasn’t bad.  If you like a good IPA, you should definitely give this a try.  My cousin, an IPA fan, drank this beer with me and enjoyed it quite a bit.

Leave a Reply

