Fat Tire Amber Ale

Posted: September 11, 2011 in American Amber Ale
Tags: , , , ,

Today I’m drinking a Fat Tire Amber Ale from the New Belgium Brewery in Colorado.  It’s a translucent honey-gold with an off-white head that quickly fades but leaves quite a bit of lacing.  The scent’s an earthy malt with some hops thrown in.  The flavor’s on the mild side but has a pleasant caramel and malt tastes.  The hops are refreshingly light. (I live in California where the breweries seem to be in constant competition to get the most hops into their beer.)  The mouthfeel was fairly thin and watery, which is fine for a beer I’m trying to drink all night, but not very interesting.  Ultimately, if I were drinking several beers in a sitting, I’d choose this, but if I’m drinking to have an interesting beer experience, I’ll pass.  It’s not bad, but it’s really nothing special either.

Comments
  1. Fara says:

    This is exactly how I feel about Fat Tire. It is a drinkable but boring beer. Fat Tire is often on sale, which makes it more drinkable. I would drink other beers if they are available.

Leave a Reply

